top of page
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle

Amanda Lovelace

Last night I pulled the blankets up to my chin and read the princess saves herself in this one from start to finish. If I’ve ever felt absolute fascination, this is it. I wrote the following poem as a sort of ode to the author, Amanda Lovelace. Read on.

her words

are not fancy

her words

aren’t things

you need

a dictionary

to understand

her words

are not prestigious

they are simple

they are few

but they are heavy

they are bricks

and with them

she builds castles

i want to live there

she talks about

death

and

bones

and

starfish

my eyes feel

wet

amanda lovelace

feed me your words

some, i will swallow whole

and some

i will chew

a hundred times

because i want

the taste

on my tongue

Check out the poetry collection at amandalovelace.com. I think this book will save lives.

Love, Tess


bottom of page